VisitSouthall    ساؤتھآل    ਸਾਊਥਹਾਲ

Councillor Mohinder Midha appointed Mayor of Ealing

Wed 25 May 2022
Councillor Mrs Mohinder Kaur Midha was formally elected the new Mayor of Ealing at last night’s Full Council Annual General Meeting (Tuesday, 24 May 2022).

As Mayor, Councillor Midha will undertake all civic ceremonial duties within the borough. This includes attendance at the Remembrance Day Service, granting of Freedom of the Borough and greeting visiting members of the royal family. She will also chair meetings of the full council..

Councillor Midha served as the Lady Margaret ward councillor in Southall for eight years (from Thursday 6 May 2010 to Friday 4 May 2018). She has been a Dormers Wells ward councillor in Southall since Thursday 8 November 2018.


She is the first ever Dalit woman mayor in the UK. She is from Punjab's Ravidassia Dalit Sikh community. Dalit, also known as untouchable, is a member of the lowest caste in India.

The former Mayor of Ealing, Cllr Munir Ahmed, said “It has been the greatest honour and privilege to serve the Borough, I love, as a first citizen. I will continue to serve the people of Perivale and Ealing.”

At the Annual Council meeting, Cllr Hitesh Tailor was appointed Deputy Mayor. Cllr Peter Mason, Leader of Ealing Council announced his new cabinet:

  • Cllr Deirdre Costigan - Deputy leader and cabinet member for climate action
  • Cllr Steve Donnelly - Cabinet member for an inclusive economy
  • Cllr Jasbir Anand - Cabinet member for thriving communities
  • Cllr Bassam Mahfouz - Cabinet member for decent living incomes
  • Cllr Lauren Wall - Cabinet member for genuinely affordable homes
  • Cllr Shital Manro - Cabinet member for good growth
  • Cllr Aysha Raza - Cabinet member for tackling crime & inequality
  • Cllr Josh Blacker - Cabinet member for healthy lives
  • Cllr Kamaljit Nagpal - Cabinet member for a fairer start


Ealing Labour has 59 councillors and this is the fourth consecutive term they will be in control of Ealing Council.

The London borough of Ealing consists of seven towns of Acton, Ealing, Greenford, Hanwell, Northolt, Perivale and Southall.

After this civic part, the council voted through huge increase in allowances, especially for the leader, despite cost of living crisis.

If you have a local news story, share it with the rest of Southall, by using the contact form.